Overview of European Liberal Arts

European Universities have been developing new undergraduate programs that take students out of the more specialized (and typically shorter) programs and enable them to explore a broader range of subjects, in more of a liberal arts approach. One grouping of such institutions is known as the ECOLAS consortium, which includes X members within their group. Some interesting stand-alone programs in liberal arts in Europe include
the Netherlands Utrecht University College, Amsterdam University College, and a relatively new program known as Leiden University College Hague begun in 2010 by Leiden University, the oldest in Holland.  Additional programs in Germany are the Jacobs University in Bremen, and Bard College Berlin, a partnership between the U.S. Bard College and the former European College of Liberal Arts.  Within the U.K., Durham University offers a Honours degree in Arts, Social Sciences, or Natural Sciences. Below is a listing of the ECOLAS members along with a few other programs that might be classified as liberal arts.

American University of Paris, France

Amsterdam University College, The Netherlands

Bard College Berlin, Germany

Benedictus College, United Kingdom

BISLA (Bratislava International School of Liberal Arts), Slovakia

Bucerius Law School, Hamburg, Germany

Catherine’s College of Tallinn University, Estonia

Catholic University Leuven, Campus Kortrijk, Belgium

Charles University (Faculty of Humanities), Prague, Czech Republic

Collegium Artes Liberales, Warsaw University, Poland

Ghent University, Belgium

Gotland Campus, Uppsala University, Visby, Sweden

Jacobs University Bremen, Germany

John Cabot University, Rome, Italy

Leiden University College, The Hague, The Netherlands

Liverpool Hope University, United Kingdom

McDaniel College, Budapest Campus, Hungary

New Bulgarian University, Sofia, Bulgaria

Salzburg Global Seminar, Austria

St Mary’s UniversityCollege, Belfast, United Kingdom

Tilburg University, The Netherlands

University College Maastricht, The Netherlands

University College Roosevelt, Middelburg, The Netherlands

University College Utrecht, The Netherlands

University of Hradec Králové, Czech Republic

University of Winchester, United Kingdom

Vytautas Magnus University, Kaunas, Lithuania

Webster University Vienna, Austria

Leave a Reply